Eric's Trip Sessionography Mid-Late 1993 - Stereo Mountain, Moncton, New Brunswick (Laying Blame cover recording sessions)

    • Doiron, Julie (Bass, Voice)
    • Gaudet, Mark (Drums)
    • Thompson, Chris (Guitar, Voice)
    • White, Rick (Guitar, Voice)
  • White, Rick (producer, engineer)
  • [O] Laying BlameSloan cover
  • [?] Others?
  • Audio: 1-inch 8-track analog magnetic tape (session tape)
Source ID Quality Complete Runtime Lowest Gen Tracks Featured Notes
SBD #1 10.0 04:35 FLAC (Murderecords 7" Singles 1993 - 1998) (2016)
    •Laying Blame

Not much is known about when this recording session happened. The original release of this cover, was on a 7" LP, which was a joint-release in collaboration with four main indie Halifax-centric labels at the time: Sloan's Murderecords, Julie Doiron's Sappy Records, and Colin MacKenzie's Cinnamon Toast Records, with distribution and manufacturing handled by Montreal's Cargo Records, in support of Dalhousie University's radio station, CKDU-FM. The 7" single was released in April, 1993.(1)

Dalhousie Gazette reporter and SloanNet Listmanager, James Covey, mentioned the cover, on October 22, 1993 on SloanNet. There was a funding drive concert for CKDU, at The Double Deuce on February 5, 1994, but Eric's Trip were not on the bill. (reference 2 - SloanNet)(2)

Speaking about the cover, two decades later in 2013, Mark Gaudet stated, "When Knee Knees said that we're gonna do a Sloan song I thought he just wanted to record "Underwhelmed", where we had been doing it occasionally, but no! Kneeners was meaning covering another Sloan song. So he asked me what I would like to do, so I said "Raspberry", "Lemonzinger", or "Sleepover", and Knees said that "Sleepover" and "Mad At Me" are too close and are there any others? So I said, "How about that B-side of "I Am The Cancer"?" And he said "Hmm, alright."(3)

  1. Discogs, n.d., Sloan, Eric's Trip – Eric's Trip / Sloan.
  2. Covey, J.R. (1993) “big news...,” SloanNet. James Covey.
  3. SloanMusic, Stockhausen, Catherine, 2013. murderecords 7" singles 1993 - 1998. KillCityBooks.