Eric's Trip Sessionography August, 1991 - Rick White's Residence, Moncton, New Brunswick (Pop Hits '91 session)

    • White, Rick (vocals, guitar)
  • White, Rick (producer, engineer)
  • [O] I Wish I Loved You
  • [O] Around For You
  • [O] Hold Back
  • [O] Blue
  • [O] No Place To Hide
  • [O] Ghost Love
  • [O] Glow
  • [O] Friends
  • [O] I'm Walking
  • [O] Pennies
  • [O] Alone With You
  • [O] At Night
  • Audio: 1-inch 4-track analog magnetic tape (session tape)
Source ID Quality Complete Runtime Lowest Gen Tracks Featured Notes
SBD #1 10.0 0:28:25 Official DAT(M)>FLAC (Pop Hits 91) (2022)
    •I Wish I Loved You
    •Around For You
    •Hold Back
    •No Place To Hide
    •Ghost Love
    •I'm Walking
    •Alone With You
    •At Night

In the release for Pop Hits 91, White stated the following: Eric's Trip was my main focus by the summer of 1991, we were playing local shows, getting a bit of a following and had put three cassettes out since December 1990. I was in the flow of writing lots of songs and learning to really enjoy the process. One day while over at Julie's folks house, i noticed her Mom's cool 80's Yamaha PS55 keyboard and played around with it a bit. It was my first time really playing with a casio type home keyboard and i especially dug the one finger controlled rhythm section stuff. The PS55 felt kinda fancy with it's bigger scale and nice stereo sound. Her Mom got a kick out of watching me making up funny little songs on the spot and said i should take it home for a few days and write some "Pop hits". I took her up on the offer and over the next few days recorded these 12 little songs. I made this cartoon cover art for the tape back then too but never sold any copies. A few may have got around to friends but i'm not sure. I really enjoyed hearing it again recently though and thought i should add it to the archive here for safe keeping. I gave the keyboard back to her Mom after this session but borrowed it again a few times over the years. It's a fun way to write songs and helps you come up with things that you normally would never write on a guitar. Several Eric's Trip and Elevator songs were written on similar keyboards i've had since. Usually changed over to guitars after writing but sometimes appearing in their original form like "Killing Myself" from my Parts 1+2 album, "The Leaf" from Taste of Complete Perspective or my whole PERPLEXIS album from 2002 for example.

    White, Rick. Pop Hits 91 liner notes. Bandcamp. April, 2022.